Partners and acknowledgements


CacaoNet is grateful to the following individuals who have contributed their expertise to the development of the Global Strategy and to CacaoNet’s Working Groups: Yaw Adu-Ampomah (Cocobod), Peter Aikpokpodion (CRIN), A. Alias (MCB), Frank Amoah (CRIG), Freddy Amores (INIAP), Fabio Aranzazu (FEDECACAO), Enrique Arévalo Gardini (ICT), Elizabeth Arnaud (Bioversity), I. Azhar (MCB), V.C. Baligar (USDA), Frances Bekele (CRU/UWI), DM Botello (FEDECACAO), NGR Braz (UESC), Peter Bretting (USDA), David Butler (consultant, formerly of CRU/UWI), Colin Campbell (consultant to ICQC,R), Manuel Canto-Saenz (UNA la Molina), Julio Cascardo (UESC), Nanga Coulibaly (COPAL), Nicholas Cryer (Kraft Foods, formerly of the University of Reading), Andrew Daymond (University of Reading), AA de Paiva Custódio (UFLA), Michel Ducamp (CIRAD), Henry Dzahini-Obiatey (CRIG), Andreas Ebert (AVRDC, formerly of CATIE), Michelle End (CRA Ltd.), Jan Engels (Bioversity), Bertus Eskes (Bioversity), Julie Flood (CABI), Martin Gilmour (Mars Inc.), Karina Gramacho (CEPLAC/CEPEC), Bill Guyton (WCF), Paul Hadley (University of Reading), Brian Irish (USDA), Maria Kolesnikova-Allen (formerly of IITA), Philippe Lachenaud (CIRAD), Brigitte Laliberté (Bioversity), Smilja Lambert (Mars Inc.), Kelvin Lamin (MCB), Claire Lanaud (CIRAD), Tony Lass (CRA Ltd.), Betsabe Leon-Ttacca (ICT), Rob Lockwood (consultant), Uilson Lopes (CEPEC/CEPLAC), Bob Lumsden (consultant to WCF), Edna Luz (CEPEC/CEPLAC), Richard Markham (ACIAR, formerly of Bioversity), Juan Carlos Motamayor (Mars Inc.), Claire Nicklin (CCD), Salomon Nyassé (IRAD), Wilbert Phillips (CATIE), Désiré Pokou (CNRA), Mario Resende (UFLA), Eric Rosenquist (consultant to WCF, formerly USDA), Max Ruas (Bioversity), Binti Bakar Saripah (MCB), Ray Schnell (Mars Inc. formerly USDA), Stela DVM Silva (CEPEC/CEPLAC), Carmen Suarez (INIAP), Surendra Surujdeo-Maharaj (CRU/UWI), Martijn ten Hoopen (CIRAD), Jean-Marc Thévenin (CIRAD), Mike Thresh (consultant to ICQC,R), Chris Turnbull (University of Reading), Pathmanathan Umaharan (CRU/UWI), Jay Wallace (CEPEC/CEPLAC), Stephan Weise (Bioversity), Andrew Wetten (University of Reading) and Dapeng Zhang (USDA).

CacaoNet would like to thank the Task Force that compiled this version of the Global Strategy: Brigitte Laliberté (Bioversity), Michelle End (CRA Ltd.), Martin Gilmour (Mars Inc.) and Stephan Weise (Bioversity).

CacaoNet is grateful to Bioversity, CIRAD, COPAL, ICCO, Mars, University of Reading and WCF for providing the opportunities and facilities which have enabled its Steering Committee and Working Groups to meet.

CacaoNet would like to thank all those cacao germplasm collection managers for their collaboration in providing detailed information on the status of their collection and these are from the following organisations:

  • Benin - Centre de Recherches Agricoles Sud Bénin (CRA-SB)
  • Brazil - Comissão Executiva do Plano da Lavoura Cacaueira (CEPLAC) and Instituto Agronômico de Campinas (ICA)
  • Costa Rica - Centro Agronómico Tropical de Investigación y Enseñanza (CATIE)
  • Côte d’Ivoire - Centre National de Recherche Agronomique (CNRA)
  • Cuba - Estación de Investigaciones de Cacao (EIC-ECICC)
  • Dominican Republic - Instituto Dominicano de Investigaciones Agropecuarias y Forestales (IDIAF)
  • Ecuador - Instituto Nacional Autónomo de Investigaciones Agropecuarias (INIAP)
  • France and French Guiana - Centre de Coopération internationale en recherche agronomique pour le développement (CIRAD)
  • Ghana - Cocoa Research Institute of Ghana (CRIG)
  • Guyana - Mabaruma/Hosororo Organic Cocoa Growers Association (MHOCGA)
  • Honduras - Fundación Hondureña de Investigación Agrícola (FHIA)
  • India - Central Plantation Crops Research Institute (CPCRI)
  • Indonesia - Indonesian Coffee and Cocoa Research Institute (ICCRI) and Bah Lias Research Station, Sumatra
  • Malaysia - Malaysian Cocoa Board (MCB)
  • Nicaragua - Laboratorio de BIOciencia, UNAN-Managua
  • Nigeria - Cocoa Research Institute of Nigeria (CRIN)
  • Papua New Guinea - Cocoa and Coconut Institute (CCI)
  • Peru - Central Piurana de Cafetaleros (CEPICAFE), Instituto de Cultivos Tropicales (ICT), Universidad Nacional Agraria de la Selva (UNAS) and Universidad Nacional de San Antonio Abad del Cusco (UNSAAC)
  • Thailand - Chumphon Horticultural Research Centre (CHRC)
  • Togo - Centre de Recherche Agronomique de la zone Forestière (CRAF)
  • Trinidad and Tobago - Cocoa Research Unit of the University of the West Indies (CRU/UWI)
  • UK - International Cocoa Quarantine Centre, University of Reading (ICQC,R)
  • USA - United States Department of Agriculture (USDA)
  • Venezuela – Instituto Nacional de Investigaciones Agrícolas (INIA)

CacaoNet would like to thank all those organizations and individuals who contributed to the development of the Global Strategy for the Conservation and Use of Cacao Genetic Resources. We particularly thank all the many organizations, institutions and individuals who have assisted us by contributing to the genebank surveys and who have provided constructive feedback during the development of this strategy, which was supported by financial and in-kind contributions from the Cocoa Research Association Ltd., UK (CRA Ltd.) Mars Inc, the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Research Service (USDA/ARS), World Cocoa Foundation (WCF), Bioversity International and the CGIAR Research Programme on Forests, Trees and Agroforestry.

Global Strategy


The entire Global Strategy document can be downloaded here: Cacaonet Global Strategy - Full document (PDF 2.4Mb)

A brochure of the Global Strategy can be downloaded hereCacaoNet Global Strategy - Brochure (PDF 2.5Mb)